How my nephew changed my life by letting Lost change his.

My check engine light came on this morning. I thought I shouldn’t drive to work but I will anyway. Then I thought I was burning up my engine while I drove to work. I figured, well, that’s that. So much for paying off my house early because I’ll be going into debt for a new car, or should I buy an old car and hope I have several lucky years keeping it running and can keep up my house payments? These are questions that I went through until I found out that an engine light could be something but is possibly nothing and as long as it’s not blinking you can drive with it on until you get a chance to have it looked at.

My nephew didn’t watch Lost but he apparently caught bits. His mom found him looking contemplative, while it was on, and asked him what was on his mind. He said, “I like how he said, ‘I don’t worry about things before they happen.'” He had seen a part of the show where one of the characters, Ben, was asked by another character why he wasn’t freaking out when it appeared the plane might crash. He was incorporating that moment into his life view. What did he come up with? One of these days, I’ll ask him.

I saw the same scene, but I only vaguely recall it. It didn’t speak to me, or I wasn’t listening and didn’t allow it to teach me a lesson I would have benefited from learning. I say my nephew changed my life by letting Lost change his, but neither of our lives have been changed. We’re works-in-progress, he’s 12, I’m 40, hopefully both receptive to thoughts, ideas, and information and allowing them in and giving them a chance to broaden our life perspectives. In this case, where I failed to do that, he gave me a second chance.

When I got back in my car after work, my check engine light didn’t come on. I still worried about it for most of the day, not the light being on, that had happened, I worried about eighty things coming next, before they happened, none of which I have any reason to think will happen now that the light isn’t on. So my nephew might say, “See? You shouldn’t have worried about it before it happened.” And I can say, “You’re right, but people don’t turn switches and change how they live. They keep listening to little moments in their lives that keep speaking to them, they keep trying to improve, and when they fail, here and there, they allow for it, and go back to trying.”

Leave a Reply

