The Question

In a dream I asked my dead father, Where are you now? He answered, “You’re born, you live a life, and then you die to something you don’t know anything about.”

Not much we didn’t all already know, I admit, but in the dream it felt peaceful and profound. I think the dream was directly related to me finding this bit from Joseph Campbell and posting it on my facebook page on the anniversary of his death, which came on October 30th:

Joseph Campbell died on this day in 1987: “The problem in middle life, when the body has reached its climax of power and begins to lose it, is to identify yourself not with the body, which is falling away, but with the consciousness of which it is a vehicle, and when you can do that, and this is something I learned from my myths, what am I, am I the bulb that carries the light or am I the light of which the bulb is a vehicle, and this body is a vehicle of consciousness, and if you can identify with the consciousness you can watch this thing go, like an old car. There goes the fender, there goes this, but it’s expectable, you know?, and then, gradually, the whole thing drops off and consciousness rejoins consciousness. It’s no longer in this particular environment.”–from The Power of Myth, conversations with Bill Moyers

Leave a Reply

