“I’ve got thirty-six dollars and lots of quarters.”

So in Flowers on Concrete, does this creepy guy, Trey, ever actually meet this Angela person? Well, first of all, Trey isn’t a creepy guy. The novel invites readers to think he might be and then question that, think he might be and then question that again. That, I think, is part of the fun of reading the book. I think he isn’t. Angela thinks he isn’t.

But since the answer doesn’t come in the amazon free sample, I can tell you that he does meet Angela. Early on in the writing, I wondered myself if they would ever meet. That seems to be a common part of the writing process, to tighten the scope of a story to maintain focus on the section of the story you’re writing, and then only in retrospect, it’s clear that’s what you were doing. I did the same thing in my second novel, which I’ll discuss when that book is published. So they do meet, actually much earlier than this excerpt from late in the book, where Trey and Angela find themselves in the city in need of a place to stay. Angela asks how much money Trey has for a hotel room:

“How much money have you got?”
“I’m not sure.” I knew I had about thirty-five dollars, but I pulled it out and counted it while Angela counted hers.
“I’ve got almost forty.”
“I’ve got thirty-six and lots of quarters,” I said.
“That should be enough for a hotel if we head a ways out of the city, don’t you think?”
“Yeah, probably.” It didn’t seem like eighty-some dollars would be enough for two hotel rooms, but I didn’t really know.

What happens at the hotel room? I could tell you, but I’d like to think if I told you it would spoil it. Not that I chose this brief portion as a teaser. I chose it because “I’ve got thirty-six and lots of quarters” has always been a favorite line. Imagine a woman you’ve spent a book enthralled with asking you how much money you have for a hotel, and Trey tells her he’s got lots of quarters.

Before I leave a link to the amazon free sample of Flowers on Concrete I’m going to answer the question of whether or not you should read my book with a quote from one of my favorite humans to have ever lived, his answer to whether or not people “should” care about his life’s work. How every artist should strive to feel:

“Go on, live your life; it’s a good life. You don’t need this. I don’t believe in being interested in subjects because they’re said to be important and interesting. I believe in being caught by it somehow or other, but you may find that with the proper introduction this subject will catch you.”–Joseph Campbell, from The Power of Myth

The free amazon sample is here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MC28L3C

The Ebook is available for purchase through amazon and other Ebook retailers. Paperback copies will be available soon through Createspace. Please contact me if you’re interested in purchasing a paperback copy from my original publisher.

Leave a Reply

