Possible back covers, please vote for one, it would be a huge help. Thanks!

Thanks for reading these. Please vote either here or in a comment on facebook or PM me if you’d prefer. Any additional thoughts or comments would also be helpful. Thanks so much!

Option A: Trey has expanded from having his childhood paper route to running a business of five as a paper man. The hours offer the seclusion he craves. He has a content life complete with a pretend girlfriend, Angela, the prettiest teller at his bank. He does get caught romantically leering at Angela through the declaration of love he wrote in the condensation of his car window, but could she see him through that? Trey struggles to perceive any social interaction in a typical way.

Sean likes him because Trey thinks about things no one else even notices, but Sean is constantly analyzing strangers’ thoughts and slipping into rages over their behavior. His new friendship with Sean is creating more of a riff in his life than Trey can handle. Sean recruits Trey to help him clean one of his buildings. Soon he has half his workload passed over to him and then encroaches on Trey’s routes. Trey is considering a return to the comfort of his reclusive lifestyle when he meets a friend of Sean’s, who he refers to only as “A.” When she picks them up after they get stranded, Trey opens with being unable to shake her hand or tell her his name and from there things get awkward.

Option B: Trey has expanded from having his childhood paper route to running a business of five as a paper man. The hours offer the seclusion he craves. He has a content life complete with a pretend girlfriend, Angela, the prettiest teller at his bank. He does get caught romantically leering at Angela through the declaration of love he wrote in the condensation of his car window, but could she see him through that? Trey struggles to perceive any social interaction in a typical way.

I snapped my thumb across the button of her lighter hidden in my hand so that the flame appeared like magic and lit the space between our faces. We watched it unwavering in each other’s eyes for a stretched out moment then she pressed the tip of her Virginia Slim into it and immediately leaned back in her chair. With her head tilted back, she blew the smoke up toward the ceiling. The ridges and curves of her throat were perfect. Under the table, I felt her foot on my calf. She had slipped her shoe off and gotten her foot under the leg of my pants. I could feel her toes ruffling then smoothing the hair on my legs. I reached across the table and took hold of her hand. It folded into mine. She really liked to hold hands, but I didn’t mind. I really liked it too. We stared into each other’s eyes. We were the only two people in the whole world.

When I left the bar, Angela wasn’t there because Angela wasn’t there.

(The portion in italics is an excerpt from the book.)

Option C: Feel free to choose option C if neither of these seemed like they’d make good back covers. I’d much rather find out now, I won’t be offended. I can keep trying. Although, if you do pick C, it would be a huge help if you gave a quick thought about why. Whatever comes to mind. Any thought you have might prove to be enormously helpful. Thanks so much for voting.

6 thoughts on “Possible back covers, please vote for one, it would be a huge help. Thanks!

  1. Option C. I think Option A tells too much of the story. It doesn’t get to the heart of Trey’s struggle. It’s good to introduce the main characters, but only to the extent necessary to arrouse curiosity. As for Option B, I feel the quotation is too long. Don’t try to encapsulate the essence of the story. Tease. Just tease.

  2. Thanks, Jesse! I’m trying to fight my instinct, which is to give away none of the story, but I’m maybe going too far the other way.

  3. I also vote option C. Try to find the heart of the story in about 300 words or less, confine your word limit as much as possible and see what comes out as the most compelling. I’d even suggest toying with several options under 300 words. Be creative, yet keep to your plot.

  4. Thanks, Summer! Yeah, I’m going back to work on it. I have some more time. Maybe I’ll post a few more options when I come up with some. Thanks for voting!

Leave a Reply

